Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument claims that, Resources should be invested in unmanned space flight. The author provides some reasoon behind this argument. The author mentions about the cost and danger of manned space and recent success of unmanned space regarding to his/her conclusion. However, carefull scrutiny reveals that, the author fails to mention several key factors, well established evidence and data to bolster the argument. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

To begin with, The argument is based on the assumption that the manned space flight is costly and dangerous. But the author doesn't provide any further evidence or data about his/her claim. The fact is that, the operation of the space probes and satellities is a costly process. It needs lots of associated things which is much more costly. Whether, the space craft is manned or unmanned, doesn't draw clear information about the manufacturing and operational cost of that space craft.

Furthermore, the author claims about the recent success of the unmanned space crafts and satellites. Cleary, this is an assumption without any solid ground. The history of the research of this universe is not a recent one. Space flight have been sending since last decade. And there are lots of success history of manned space flight. So one can not draw a conclusion by studying only the recent one. Perhaps, there could have some other reasons of these successes. Technology is gaining efficinency day by day. There have some innovations of recent time which plays the vital roles in our modern world.May be, those are the key factor of the recent success of space flight. The author ignore any further information, on the basis of which the argument can be drawn properly.

Again, According to the argument, men and women are the burden and risk for the space flight. Thats mean that the recent space probes and satellities are cleary dependent on technology and robots. But the fact is that These robots are assigned with some specific tasks. Still scientist are unable to confer creativity on them. So in case of emergency situation, this ambience could be dangerous. For safety issues, manned space flight still be the best choice for the Scientists.

In conclusion, without having the details insight of the situation and careful examination of possibilities, the conclusion made by the author is not justifiable.