"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The writer of the letter recommends that as Manned space flights are dangerous and expensive, we should rely and invest more on unmanned space flight. To support his recommendation, he asserts that because of many useful information provided by unmanned space flight, as they are much less risky and cheaper compared to manned space flight, it is better to work on space flights that do not have person in it. However, this recommendation cannot be taken to be true as it is in that it rests on concatenation of premises most of which can be challenged in one or another way.

The first problem of the argument is that the data the writer provided may be potentially unrepresentative statistical result because the writer did not provide information about the sample size and the total number of cases he had dealt with regarding to his conclusion about more useful information can be gathered by unmanned space flights that manned one. According to statistical theory, the greater the proportion of the sample to target size, the more reliable and valid the result is. Hence, because the writer did not provide any evidence to regarding sample size and total number of the cases he survied or relied on its result and just assumed that they are OK, what he concluded about this result in not valid or reliable. Additionally, a sample to be a good representative of a target in order to apply the result of the sample to the whole target papulation. For example, there may exist many different useful information that could be clustered in many different categories and because there is no evidence provided by the writer to show the mentioned results by the writer. To improve his argument, he can, for example, mention the proportion of the sample size related to the total number of cases he surveyed, and also, he should prove the sample size was a qualified represantative of the all cases he dealt with.

Even assuming that the sample is both large enough and representative, there exists other flaws in the writer's deduction. For example, maybe there are methodological flaws in the survey the writer based his words on it.

For instance, maybe the "useful information" data are selected with bias and there may exist many relevent information that could be gathered only by manned space that the collector of the data for the survey intentionally igonored them. Therefore, to solve this problem the writer should become assure about the impartiality of the data selection to make the survey he concluded based on it to become valid.

In the final analysis, the writer recommendation cannot be correct as it is based on some premises that are dubious. The recommendation can be accepted only if the problematic issues already reffered are justifiably addressed.