The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The writer recomments that in order to preserve the population of tufted groundhog, the West Lansburg council should not allow for the construction of the roads in the coastal lands of West Lansburg. According to the writer, as the population of sea otter decreased in neighboring Estern Carpenteria due to the coastal road construction, buiding roads in the coastal land of West Lansburg could have a same result leading decline of the population of the tufted groundhogs. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on some assumptions that are not supperted well by warranted evidences.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer of the letter argues that the population of sea otters in Carpenteria declined because of the road construction. There is no evidence to demonstrate that road construction was the defenite cause of the population decline. For instance, it is tenebale to suppose that the water of that area became toxic for a specific priod of time having adverse consequences on the population of sea otters on that coastal region. Also, it is possible to say that the population of the prayers of sea otters had increased before the population decline of the sea otters.Therefore, because there are less prayers, theiThis whole idea also works for the correlation between the population of groundhog and coastal road constructions as well. To clarify, it is possible for the writer to provide supporting evidences to show that road construction was the only and exact cause for the decline of sea otters and groundhog population.

Even assuming that the population of both species declines is attributable to the road construction, there is not sufficent warrented data and proved evidence to show that because of droping the number of sea otters in Carpenteria, groundhog population will decrease as well because of road cunstruction. In fact, the writer of the letter incorrectly assumes that the two location are identical in all other aspects. As a matter of fact, these two location can be geographicaly different from each others. Therefore, if ,for example, there be more food available for groundhogs on that time, or the number of their prayers decline on that specific time of road construction, maybe there would not be a decline in groundhogs populations. To improve his letter, the writer should provide evidences relating to compare other factors contributing to the populations of groundhos and sea otters, and should also provide evidence that even if there are other factors having effects on the population of the two species, at the time of road cunstruction, none of them has effect on their population.

In the final analysis, the writers recommendation to the West lansburg counsil cannot be taken to be correct since he does not provide sufficient amount of evidences to prove his recommendation to be true. The recommendation can only be accepted if he provide compelling evidences regarding all the pointed clarified above.