"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument mentioned is stating the use of unmanned space flight and investing in it instead of the manned space flight giving the grounds that manned flights are relatively costly and dangerous then unmanned flight. On careful scrutiny of the argument it appears to be having several flaws and unwarranted assumptions. It cannot be accepted until it amends the several points.

Firstly, there is no authorization of the letter. It can not justified only in writing weather the manned flights are costly or dangerous. The author of the letter just concludes and also compares it to the unmanned flights is a baseless conclusion. For strengthning this point the author should have provided the warranted data of some international organization or some national government survey.

Second, the letter stated the success of series of unmanned spaces probes and satellites without mentioning the name or the space mission associated. The reason is somewhat incomplete without a strong evidence with name of the missioin and then comparing it with the same type of manned space program. There are possibilities that unmanned had been used for something not requiring any human interaction whereas other mission requires a presence of human to deduce the results.

Third, the letter compares the cost and risk of just sending the man with machine. But this reason is also with error because it fails to analyse the overall cost. There are several expenses like preparing a machine with some intelligence, the cost for the computer engineers appointed behind the creation etc. Also there is need of reliability on machine as human for which many simulation tests need to be done before the actual flights which may be complex for various situations in space.

The letter's suggestion cannot be accepted as it lacks several evidences and ignores several facts. The reasoning appears somewhat incomprehensive and the authentication is not justified. For suggestion to be more robust and flawless the author must include several evidences and present a comprehensive report with facts and juxtaposing it with the manned space missions