Topic: “Technocorporation is our top pick for the investment this term. We urge all our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed a stellite technology has been approvd by the FTA to compete with current satellite provider. The company is technocorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of the respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not monopoly. Thus , the new venture of technocorporation into satellite televsion will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

The argument presented is the advice offered to the investors to invest in a new company named as Techcorpration which has developed some satellite technology to compete with the current satellite provider. The letter urged that it will be the top choice of the investment as the survey last year indicated that majority of the people are dissatisfied by the current satellite television provider and would want to switch a new one. The argument stated have several flaws and errors which question its acceptance as proposed. The advice cannot be accepted until the following errors are correted.

Firstly, there is anonymity presented with the advisor of the letter which makes it less credible. The advice is from some government source or a private institution or just a normal person dissatisfied by the current satellite provider? There is no credence as there is no name associated with it and investing a huge amount of money on an unknown source of advice will not prompt investors also. The advisor must be mentioned with the letter with his qualifications which will give him some weight to suggest his advice.

Second, survey by FTA is just mentioning that the new company can compete with the current one but there is no claim that it will be better or reliable than the older one. As the company is new and with less experience it will hardly be trusted by the investors over the older one. The consumer survey does not offer any credence as it is not done by some official or some well known organisation. So it will be a baseless assumption to just consider the new one better then the old one just one a survey and it's same level to the current satellite provider.

Third, the author of the letter suggested that more than eighty percent of the respondents of the survey were dissatisfied by the current satellite provider. But there are various possibilities: they might be discontent with the pricing which is also not assured by the new provider. They might be dissatisfied by the tv contents which may not change even after the new provider. And also there is a strong possibility is that survey may be biased just to defame the old provider and encourage the investors penchant towards the Techcorporation.

The argument less several facts and evidences. It is based much on assumptions and such a flawed advice cannot be followed for huge amount of investment. The advice should be presented well with evidences and facts to bolster the suggestion. The proof of some well known surveys must be substantiated with the argument to make it a more robust one. Until then the advice cannot be considered as flawless.