Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The space missions which in past were considered extremely costly and confined to government organisations only, has seen a tremendous revolution with private sector participating in it e.g SpaceX. With tremendous research opportunities and search for a possible earth-like planet a lot of money and resources is being invested in this domain. Both manned and unmanned missions have proven to be useful as well as diHence it is important to have a comprehensive overview before making a decision on investing majority or all the resources on unmanned space flight.

The most important thing to consider here is that can unmanned space flight be automated enough to gather all possible insights just like a human? It is no wonder that technology has made abundant advancements today but even now the importance of human involvment in many sectors is unquestionable. It is therefore critical to recognize that after investing resources in unmanned space flights, will we be able to achieve all our objectives and study all aspects of space which we intend to?

As pointed out before, the world had never seen such a burst in technology development as it is witnessing today.It is important to ponder over the idea that can these advancements be used to reduce the cost of manned flights and reduce the risk involved it? Facts show us that in past decade the space bodies all over the world have not incurred any human losses in manned space flights, which itself is an indicator that the efficiency and safety has increased leaps and bounds. Any more boost to the resources will only help to improve the manned space missions.

Even if the decision is taken to invest more in unmanned space flights, it will be important to analyse the quality of data that is received compared to their manned flight counterparts. Sure, the climate and atmosphere patterns can be easily recognized by unmanned flights but it lacks the curiosity and intelligence of man which hinders it to explore beyond what it was programmed to do. A comprehensive study comparing data obtained from both types of space flight is important inorder to consider which flight missions should be given greater importance and priority.

Certainly in past decade the achievements of unmanned space flight has been extra-ordinary.However it is pertinent to ponder over the fact that should unmanned missions be prioritized or the space world needs cohesive approach for both manned and unmanned missions.