Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The television station, for past year has devoted increased time to national television and reduced time spent on weather and local news which manager feels has resulted into viewrs complaints and cancelling of advertisement contracts. However there could multitude of other factors which could have resulted in the above events. It could also be possible that the television station has now started to gain more national viewership and there is infact a slight hindernace at local viewership level. Hence, it is important to consider multiple factors before deciding to restore time devtoted to weather and local news to its former levels.

The key factor that needs to be pondered upon here are the main reason as to why the local businesses have ended their contracts. Also, the complaints received from viewers represent which demographics of the state. And it is equally important to analyse the impact of running of national news on the viewership count. If the local audience is complaining but the national viewership is increasing , then it mught be good signs for the television station as they are becoming a national tv station.

In his memorandum, the manager mentions that the local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts. But it needs to be investigated here as to what are the main plaussible reasons for this action. It could be a case where the another rival television station is providing cheaper contracts. Or it could also be possible that since late-night news program is focusing on national news, it no longer attracts local viewers thus making local advertisements redundant.

Manager mentions that many viewers complained regarding less coverage of local and weather news. This complaint needs to be probed in more depth, as this could be because of several factors. It is highly likely that the new national news coverage is sub-standard and hence viewers want it to be replaced with the older format. Sometimes people are averse to new changes, and this suddden change in news reporting format is making people uncomfortable, but after sometime when the audience gets used to daily national news they might infact start liking it.

Manager, before jumping on the conclusion of switching back to older format of local and weather news should dive deep into the analysis of vieweship and reviews while running new national news format. It could be possible that the television station has started seeing increased viewers on a national scale. And in such scenarios, the national and multi-national businesses might be interested in signing advertising contracts. Continuation of national news in late-night news program might actually elevate the status of local television station as a national television station.

Although the majority of the complaints from viewers in regards to lack of local and weather news and local businesses ending contracts is concering, the manager needs to have a look at all the dimensions of the scenario before jumping on the conclusion and making a switch back to older variant.