Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors.

The primary reason for the Omega University to consider terminating student evaluation of professors is to tackle the inability of students to get a job, but this action might not be really fruitful in their main objective as there can be much more significant reasons of lack of employibility of their students. Before evaluating other prospective causes, this action will be at the best ineffective for the university.

One of the most important thing that Omega University needs to consider is, that whether beyond grade infaltion is there any other reason for the potential employers to not hire their graduates. The reasons here could be lack of required domain skillset or poor communcation skills and this could perhaps be the cause of higher recruitment from the Alpha University. It is important here for Omega to get a comprehensive feedback from the employers in regards to quality of students and what is it that they are lacking to be employable.

Another very important thing to consider here is that quality of teaching in the classes. If the professors as a whole are not providing quality education and helping students gain required skillsets, the students will not be able to provide a strong candidature during recruitment and aslo will be performing poorly during the tests, thus forcing professors to give them higher grades so that students do not evaluate them badly. It is therefore prtinent to hire better professors or improve the teaching methodology by use of more interactive mediums which will thus result in students understanding the subjects better and honestly scoring well during tests as well performing well during their interviews.

Omega University also needs to asses the quality of the tests students are provided. It could very well be the case that the tests indeed are quite easy, thus ensuring higher grades , leading to giving an impression of inflated grades to potential employers. It is also important to asses the type of questions asked in the student evaluation form. Questions should be more comprehensive and detailed , which should result in students giving honest feedbacks and more detailed evaluation can be carried out. This could eliminate students skewing their evaluation towards professors who are strict graders and encourage professors to assess the tests on its merit.

Omega Univeristy needs to reconsider the different plausible scenarios before taking any action, and only then they will be able to fix the root of cause of students being unable to fetch jobs.