Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The opinion that claims unmanned space probes are better than the manned space flight is flawed and an unconvincing opinion. Human species are the most curious and creative thinkers alive on this planet. Scientists, theologists and many other people working at space department are the risk takers. If it was not for them we would still not be knowing that there aare other planets in the solar system,information regarding the mily way galaxy. Risks are involved. but there are tasks where an unmanned probe is not suited to go.

The letter doesn't mention how recent is the success rate. maybe its of few years back or maybe its of this year. It is possible that the recent success the letter speaks about had more unmanned misssions than manned so out of how many missions the success rate has been calculated is also not mentioned.

The person writing the letter is basing his arguments on just the recent success rate and not taking the total success rate of the manned and unmanned space probes into evaluation. Maybe the succes rate of manned have been more than the unmanned but maybe in this year more unmanned missions have been successful.

The letter here is also making a consideration that the cost of a manned space flight is more than the unmanned probe so it is easy to gather information. The letter isn't taking into consideration whether the missions that were manned can be made into unmanned space probes. If yes then only their is benefit in investing in unmanned space flight.

Therefore, i will like to conclude that the argument about the letter to the editor of national aeronautics magazine is flawed and unconvincing and requires so many considerations.