'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

TV and new has become an integral part of our lives. We can access the news from anyplace regarding any country. On the argument, I believe this argument is weakly justified with fewer facts and more assumptions.

The manager of the TV station is making an assumption here that the coverage of weather and local news has affected its business. But he isn't taking a few factors into consideration like how many viewers have registered the complaints, e.g. If only 5-6 people are complaining out of a few, then making such business decisions may prove to be wrong in the long run.

Consequently, how many people actually watch TV during the night for national news isn't considered or mentioned. Maybe the city has more of the young youth who is interested in watching something else like in a category of entertainment and fun during night time, So just restoring the time devoted to weather and local news isn't going to do them justice.

Also, the manager isn't taking into consideration the fact that maybe the local businesses might have other issues related to money, the attitude of people working in the TV station that is why they might be canceling their contracts. Just because there were given less coverage seems too specific.

Also, less consideration is given to the fact that what type of national news is being shown on TV. Maybe the news isn't up-to-date or isn't shown effectively. Subsequently, The manager is basing all its arguments on the last year's time period. Also what amount of revenue the advertising company was bringing to the station is also not provided, maybe the amount is not enough to compromise on the national news.

Therefore, I believe the argument is weakly justified and needs more evidence to strengthen the viewpoint.