"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While at first glance the argument presented by the author seems to be persuasive, a lengthy perusal highlights some unwarranted assumptions on the author's behalf. These assumptions have not been backed by solid data and thereby render this argument not cogent enough.

First, the author states that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Despite the obvious inference that there is a cost of life involved, the author has not specified his reasons for believing so. Unmanned space flights can be equally costly and dangerous if not more. During the 1960s or so, when the space technology was relatively inchoate, manned space flights were associated with a lot of risks. But since then it has developed into an inexorable technology. If the author has substantial evidence that proves that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and unmanned space flight is not, then his argument should be backed by such evidence.

Second, the author mentions the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites that has proven to be a great deal of success. But if the event is recent, it is likely that the technology required for this feat is not available with all countries and space institutes. Even if it were available, it is only one success and does not suffice to conclude that it supersedes manned space flights or the efficacy of unmanned space flights is more.

Third, the author believes that the unmanned space flights are relatively not as costly when compared to manned flights. It is worth mentioning that technology has been developed by humans and it acts as a tool that enables us to pursue more complex tasks. If the flights are not manned, then a much more complex technology would be needed to cover the tasks that were initially administered by humans. This is likely to incur more costs in order to train the technology to gather all the useful information. Also, while technology has advanced more than ever before, there still remain tasks where they cannot mimic the complexity of the human mind. Therefore, the dexterity, alacrity of the humans would be required.

In conclusion, the argument has the capacity to be approbated by the editor of national aeronautics magazine, but it needs to be back by statistical data, citing examples of myriad of unmanned space flights that were successful. Also, if at all they reduce cost and risks to life, then a detailed argument needs to be presented for the same. Currently the argument is not persuasive enough to be approved.