The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While opening a café seems like a valuable addition to the bookstore on the outside, the recommendation presented makes assumptions and raises a few unanswered questions, thereby failing to put forward a cogent argument. The answers to these questions may expostulate the viability of a café in the store and may affect the predicted result.

The authors believe that the opening of a café and the popularity of the bookstore are directly related. They have failed to provide a strong reasoning for the same, and hence it is most likely a presumption on their part. This presumption raises the following questions. What is the basis of such declaration? Has there been a survey conducted for the same? If yes, how many customers participated in the survey? The answers to these questions can significantly alter the belief that the bookstore’s popularity and opening a café are congruous.

Additionally, the recommendation claims that the bookstore has a large customer base owing to the wide selection of books on all subjects. In that case, is it wise to discontinue the children’s book section? Is the role of selling of children’s books comparatively insignificant in revenue generation for the store? What percentage of customers buy children’s books, is it on a decline? While it may be true that there has been a significant decline in the percentage of population aged under ten nationwide, but does that apply to the store’s vicinity as well? Another presumption worth mentioning here is that the authors believe that children’s books are read by children aged ten or below only. They can be read by children aged above ten and adults as well. The board of directors should also consider the point that by discontinuing the children’s books section, there is a possibility that they may lose some of their customers to other bookstores in the area.

Before declaring the relevance of a café in the bookstore, there are a few more questions that need to be answered. Based on the recent profits incurred, is it optimal to invest in a café? After the opening of the café, it might not prove to be a juggernaut with the customers straightaway, how will that affect the revenue of the store? It is also significant to find out the average amount of time a customer spends in the store. Does he like to peruse through the collections, or does he purchase books and leave? After the café is opened, the customers might spend relatively more time in the store, albeit it might not necessarily result in higher purchase.

In conclusion, something that works well for Regal Books may not necessarily work for Monarch Books and therefore it is crucial that a recommendation/decision be made that is backed by solid data. Feedback should be acquired from the customers based on which, the Board of Directors can bolster their argument with solid facts and empirical data and accordingly recommend the best course of action. Currently the recommendation is rife with assumptions and unanswered questions.