Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Most of us have heard of this sentiment: “The rich are getting richer, the poor are becoming poorer!”. Some of us have even experienced or observed this fact. While some people may argue this to be untrue, it is unfortunate that it has become the reality of our global society. The rich people having endless means and resources at their disposal are flourishing in every sector – be it politics, education, business, entertainment - as a result. The poor on the other hand, are struggling to get through everyday hurdles such as acquiring meals, providing shelter to their families and sending their kids to school.

For a society or nation, and the world in general, it is crucial that the balance between the rich and poor segments of the society be maintained in order to achieve economic stability and growth. Education is the most effective means by which this balance can be restored. And what better way to utilise the taxpayers’ money than to invest in the education of the students that wish to educate themselves but cannot afford to do so. The students that manage to receive an acceptance from universities are clearly capable as well as promising and given the opportunity, can achieve great heights and fulfilling careers.

Apart from direct benefits, there are some indirect benefits to supporting this endeavour. When the poor section of the society cannot afford necessities like education, they get discouraged and sometimes even acerbic towards others. They might be tempted to partake in illegal activities and may also develop criminal tendencies. It is a sad reality that a lot of children become victims of child labour and human trafficking, as their guardians are entrenched in the belief that there is no future after education. Free tuition to students may prove to be a factor that encourages the neglected section of our society to put in conscious efforts to gain education, and eventually alleviate themselves from poverty. These students will have an equal opportunity to the best education and may become the scientists, businessmen and leaders of tomorrow.

First world nations or developed nations should be able to provide free tuition to the deprived students with relatively lesser difficulty than those nations that cannot afford to do so. In such a scenario, the governments may provide free tuition and later recover full or partial sum of the monetary value when the students are in a better position to support themselves. A little foresight and deliberate efforts can go a long way in the improvement of quality of life of a country’s residents and contribute to economic and social growth.