Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's day, scandals have become commonplace. Whether it be social media, television or the print media, the highlights are sure to include the latest developments on some high profile public persona's scandals.

Majorly Scandals bring into light the social problems that we as a global society face on a regular basis. It highlights the problem areas of humanity as we develop and evolve into a more advanced species. Social problems have always existed since time immemorial. Even during the time of monarchs, our history books are documents for various scandals that put forward the vices of the then society. Today we are more connected and aware than ever before. Technology has played a crucial role in enabling us to make ourselves informaed about the where and how of the entire world.

Although this has immense advantages, it also beings into light our weaknesses as a social group. Money laundering, corruption, political quandaries and sexual assault are only to name a few of them. Noone seems to be untouched by scandals, be it politicians, celebrities, businessmen and even policemen. In today's world no-one is loyal and duty-bound. But a point worth noting here is that scandals highlight problems that would have otherwise been left obscured and hidden.

Additionally, these scandals not just mar or disrepute a public figure, but also play a major role in bringing justice into effect. Once a scandal is highlighted by the media, and is followed by millions of citizens, then justice is demanded and the protectors of law are forced to look into the matter and provide justice. One recent such scandal is that of one of the ex-finance ministers of India whose immoral behaviour was brought into light by his money laundering scandals in order to support his son's private business. The man is a highly regarded politician and therefore it would have been quite difficult to charge him of the crime if not for the scandals about him.

But albeit the usefulness of scandals is not trivial, it can be disruptive too. It's not a secret that many innocent people get scandalised by media and as a result their lives are ruined. A recent example that is worth mentioning is that of a regular citizen who was falsely accused by a woman of sexual assault on the social media. The woman gained a lot of popularity and the police were forced to look into the matter. The man was falsely charged and as a result lost his job and his good name was maligned, and the woman fled the country. This is one of the multitude of examples where scandals do more harm than good.

In conclusion, it is true that scandals can bring into light issues that would have been otherwise obscured. But it is important that the law and media does not act on hearsay alone and thoroughly scrutinizes the matter at hand. Once a person's good name is maligned, it cannot be undone.