The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may appear that the proposal put forward by the director of student housing at Buckingham College is really attractive and worth attention, the recommendation presented seems unlikely to have been backed by solid data and facts, thereby rendering the argument not cogent enough to consider.

First of all, the director claims that to serve the increasing housing needs of students, the college should build a number of new dormitaries. But he/she seems to have failed to take into account other factors that may affect this claim inadvertantly. Building new dormitaries require additional space, resources. Since nothing of the sort has been mentioned, it is likely that this important factor has been overlooked. Also, "a number of new dormitories" fails to specify exactly how many dormitaries should be built, if at all this proposal is accepted.

Secondly, albeit the current trends show that the enrollment at the college is growing, it is difficult to extrapolate the outcome over the nect 50 years. The claim that it would double in about 5 decades is a very bold claim and a little far-fetched too to invest in dormitaries currently. Various factors can affect this growing trend - the college may decide to discontinue some of the programs, or introduce new ones, new colleges might be introduced in the vicinity, the area's economic and social factors may change. All these can affect the enrollment adversely and therefore while the claim may hold true for the upcoming 5 years perhaps, it may not necessarily be the same for the next five decades.

Additionally, the director states that the average rent has risen in the recent years. Again there is a lack of factual data to indicate by what percentage the average rent has increased and whether or not this problem is worth looking into currently. The economic factors of the area in which the college is located may change drastically and it is difficult to predict if this trend of rise in rent will continue.

Finally, the enrollment of prospective students and building new dormitories may not be congruous. While it may be true that a student definitely looks into housing facilities before enrolling, it is not the single most important factor. There are other factors such as programs offered, faculty, job prospects, location etc that are far more likely to sway the students' decision to enroll at the college. Attractive new dormitories is surely not one of the driving factors.

In conclusion, the proposal has the potential to be approbated and favored by the college administration given that it is reviewed and backed by factual data instead of predicting the outcome based on trends. Currently the proposal is unlikely to gain approval as it is not persuasive enough.