"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author claims that manned space flights being costly and risky, the resources should be invested in unmanned sattelites and probes because they are able to gather useful information. However, this argument is flawed because gathering a great deal of useful information from space as done by unmanned flight does not necessarily tantamount to the efficiency and ability of the manned flight.

First, we need to address the what kind of information is being talked about? Although, unmanned satellites are able to capture some useful information, but is this the information that is all required? One might need to collate information which can only be perceived by human eyes. We do not know from the argument how well the unmanned satellites are equipped to perform all those operations which a human mind can perform and the information collected is all that is necessary. Also, consider a case where there is an anomaly in the stratosphere which can have a severe impact on Earth, and the satellite is not "programmed" to collect such information. This will cost us heavily in the future if the men and women are not sent along with the satellite.

Second, how much time does it take for the unmanned satellite to gather this "useful" information and then interpreting this information. If a human accompanies a satellite, the satellite is also given direction as to where the information should be collected and prioritisation occurs. However, if a satellite is left to it's own, there could be a lot of disorganization which could actually take greater time in procuring the useful information from a lot of superfluous other information.

Third, is the task of gathering useful information the only task to be performed by satellites? The manned satellites might be performing tasks beyond just mere culling of information in the space. Until, the argument details out various tasks performed by satellites, we cannot conclude that unmanned space flights are ready to replace the manned ones.

Hence, for these reasons stated above, the argument is full of loopholes and major information is missing which hinders in arriving at the conclusion states by the author that resources should be invested in unmanned space flight.