Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

"Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study." This statement contains two words of focus; interest and talent. How do we describe interest? What is talent?

Generally, it is noticed that interests change over time. Giving my personal example, I wanted to be a pilot in junior school because that's when I travelled for the first time in an aeroplane. As I grew up, my interest got inclined towards engineering, mainly due to the high demand of engineers combined with my strong Mathematics. In my college, I took Electronics and Communication engineering because of my "interest" in Semiconductors and other hardware technology, but during my course of study, I got inclined towards Software Programming and implementing Machine Learning algorithms. During the college placements, I was able to grab a high salary package in core Software Development industry because I stayed open to exploring many fields and not just sticking to one hardware area as per my initial interest. However, there were other students in my batch who strictly stayed in Electronics field because of their "interest" and due to recession in electronics field at the time of placements, they did not get very good job offers, although they were equally hardworking as me. Today, most of them have moved to the Finance sector! Hence, it's important to have an open mind before making a choice. As far as talent is concerned, while some people might have inherent talent in a field but more or less it is a developed trait. As stated by the famous psychologist. Carol S. Dweck, that nothing is fixed, all qualities be it intellectual or talent is developed through hard work and growth mindset. We become better in the area we practice in.

Moreover, in the end, what matters is how easy life is in terms of amenities. Although, it is good to have interests but one should be open to exploring all areas, especially the ones where the availability of jobs is high. After all, until we give it a try, how will we know that this is not worth doing. However, if someone has a strong interest in a field, say A, but job availability is high in field B, and even after thoroughly exploring field B, the person wants to stick to field A, then I believe that it is the right thing to do.

Hence, I would like to conclude by saying that interest and talent are not a fixed parameter, they are likely to change with the parameter "time". One should be pliant when career options are concerned and not be rigid to one particular interest at a particular time, say t1. We should explore the many options and fields around us and then make a decision.