"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is true that the young people should be prepared for leadership because they are the future of the country, for it is them who will decide what the future is going to hold. I firmly believe that both cooperation as well competition go hand in hand to preen the individuals for leadership. While cooperation is only a group dynamic, one should be cooperative to suit everyone as a whole but competition, can also be an individual dynamic, helping in improving oneself. And yet, the most important competition of all is competing with oneself to strive for excellence.

Moreover, a sense of competition is necessary to be instilled in order to be great leaders who will not just take care of it's individuals but also work on giving the best to it's individuals. For instance, leadership in government will be required to make the nation grow economically more rapidly than other nations while the same in an industry such as software industry will be required to win the maximum customers. Hence, cooperate within your organisation but compete with others in the market to achieve the best.

A quintessential example that exudes both cooperation and competition among individuals is sports. No sports, be it basketball, football or cricket can be "won" without great leadership, cooperation as well as a desire to win giving rise to immense competition amongst the teams. The sports is the best method to develop leadership qualities amongst the individuals. It accounts for great struggle, practice, faith, tenacity as well as cooperation and competition. The competition is specifically an integral part, which is for an individual with himself/herself, within the team members during practices and amongst the contending teams on the day of the tournament.

Hence, I conclude that both cooperation and competition are necessary for an individual to grow as a leader. If it's not for competition, there's no motivation to ameliorate oneself, be it the competition with oneself or with others.