A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I strongly disagree with the idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In today's world, we have a myriad of career oppurtunities available, a gamit of interests in so many diverse fields ranging from astronomy to a real estate broker, from being a programmer building e-commerce sites such as Amazon to the fashion designers preening the celebrities. In such a scenario, there should not be a uniform curriculum but one that provides a platform for all to grow according to their suitability or interests.

Even though we have colleges that provide the specific skills and knowledge for the career one wants to pursue, but given that in most nations college commences at an average age of eighteen years, it becomes too late to start developing the required skills for one's career. According to psychology, by the age of around fourteen-fifteen years, one is able to make significant decisions involving their own unimpressionable opinions. While everyone should possess a certain basic education, it must be enough to gather this education until the age of fifteen years. After fifteen years, the curriculum should be designed in such a way that would provide students a chance to explore their interests, strengths and weaknesses. A particular set of courses should not be foisted upon them, which could eventually lead to losing interest from studies. For instance, while a basic knowledge of three laws of motions entailed by Newton would be beneficial for all, diving deep into how gravity works or the relative theory of Einstein might not be useful for someone who wants to pursue his/her career in dance.

If a student is not a given a chance to explore, how is she to suddenly decide what does she want to do in future? By narrowing the curriculum earlier to provide the specific skillsets, students can make better decisions and with way more confidence regarding their career by the time they reach college. For instance, a student who has all the characterstics to be a successful fashion designer might have never got a chance to explore this fact if all she did until eighteen years is studying trigonometry and how the capacitors discharge with time.

Moreover, we do have students who do realise what they want to do when they're just around fifteen years old and then eventually drop out because the homogenuous curriculum does not help them to burnish their skills.

Hence, a uniform national curriculum should not exist until college but only till up to a certain age providing basic education. Later, the students should be given a chance to explore themselves by a flexible curricucum and gather the specific skillsets and knowledge required by their chosen career paths. A same national curriculum will fail to caliberate itself adjusting all the mutifacrious careers that exist today.