Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible

I believe that corporations have strong responsibilities towards promotion of well-being of society and the environment. It is true that corporations must aim at making as much money as possible, for it surely helps the economy growth in plentiful ways. Few of them being, generating more employment opportunities, other businesses flourish on which a particular corporation is dependent upon and the profits of shareholders inevitably surge. But what good is this economic growth if during this time the environment or the well-being of the people is getting harmed?

The corporations’ CEOs are the potentates in today’s era who have all the capabilities to deal with the world's problems; be it economical, social or environmental. Hence, it becomes incumbent upon them to take these responsibilities. It is not some kind of benefaction but if the environment and society in which they function is healthy, their business will flourish which otherwise would doom.

It is also true that the most successful corporations of the world have already realised this fact. For example, with feminism becoming more and more significant, almost all corporations have policies that aim to maintain a particular gender ratio. These companies range from food industry like Zomato, banks such as Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley to the major software juggernauts like Google and Microsoft.

In addition, the companies like Hero and Honda (now divided into two), who are the manufacturers of the vehicles run on petrol and diesel are investing huge amounts on electrical vehicles. Why? No, it’s not because of increasing petrol prices. It is because the deleterious effects of the petrol run vehicles in the environment are becoming more and more prominent everyday. Few electric vehicles are already available but are very expensive compared to their fuel-run counterparts. However, in years to come, the petrol vehicles will become absolutely obsolete.

Few years ago, industries were heavily criticised for discharging their waste in the environment and polluting the air and water severely. However, if you see today, most industries are managing their waste disposal in a very efficient way thereby preventing environmental contamination.

Hence, we see that the world is already changing. The companies from mere startups to the established juggernauts are taking intensive care to protect the society and environment in which they operate. And this has not risen from their altruistic hearts, but rather from the financial perspective it is easily discernible that to become powerful in today’s era, the responsibilities towards environment and society are equally responsible as making money, both of being totally inter-dependent.