Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Should the nation suspend the government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed? My opinion is not at all. Art is a highly valuable aspect of any society, it depicts the creativity, adroitness, the state of mind of the great artists that have lived on this planet. Considering this, it is quite obvious that such a high form of skill would always attract great attention from diverse backgrounds and hence generate a considerable amount of revenue.

Art can exist in many forms; paintings, drama, dance, music, entertainment. They buttress the nation by providing unique cultures, traditions, tourism and even rejuvenation to the citizens of the nation as well. There is always a great return of investment for art and by stopping the funding for art, there will be a high loss in revenue. For instance, India is a developing nation where many people are unemployed. But at the same time, it is a heterogenous society with copious amount of diversity present. Art in India, such as Bharatnatyam, Kathakali dances, Indian classical music attract connoisseurs from all over the world. Mumbai, the city where Bollywood industry resides, generates the maximum tax in whole nation.

Art also generates employment opportunities for thousands of people. There is a lot of manual effort required in building new art and preserving the old one. If the funding for art stops, it will divest so many people of their jobs. For example, in today's market we have a thriving industry for interior and fashion designers. Moreover, with the pervasive existence of social media, we have an abundance of music composers, singers and dancers providing entertainment to people while earning their living through art. By suspending the art, it would essentially mean killing the human mind's free thinking and innovative skills.

Art is also essential in preserving the culture and tradition of the society. If art is lost, we lose history, and also the value system of the society. The Punjabi folk dance in India called Bhangra is enjoyed in every corner of the world. Recently, Bhangra performance was also given an NBA basketball match in U.S.A during the half time. If government stops investing, how will the cultures be passed from one generation to another?

Moreover, art is also entertainment. It provides people a much needed respite from their diurnal activities. It is psychologically well-known fact that this helps in improving the performance and efficiency. This further helps in improving the nation's GDP.

Hence, I conclude that art is a high form of nature, which should never be suspended, for both financial as well as ethical and psychological reasons. The government should properly investigate the cause for high unemployment and make efforts in that area while continuing to support art.