In an attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways But this effort has failed the number of accidents has not decreased and based on reports by the highway patrol man

The author claims that Prunty County should bring down the number of accidents on their highways using the same techniques followed by Butler County. However, this argument is flawed for the following reasons.

First, a direct comparion is made between the two counties without complete details. We do not know how wide is Prunty County currently. If it's already as wide as Butler County, how will making it wider help? Also, the width of highways depends on how heavily it is used. The reason Butler County highways would have been made wider is to accomodate the increasing number of vehicles in the area. We do not have any such information regarding Prunty County, so if the current width is ample for the vehicles to move about then widening the highways would be a sheer waste of resources.

Second, the reason of accidents in Prunty County could be a large number of intersections and speed brakers installed as compared to Butler County. This would require a lower speed and as author says, the drivers are still exceeding the speed limits according to the evidences. This should require a stricter enforcement of traffic rules, instead of diverting the efforts from the real cause. Until the time the speed limits are not implemented completely and the real cause of accidents is known, formulating a conclusion as to where the resources should will be nebulous.

Third, the author fails to mention the current state of the highways in Prunty County. Are they really rough? Are there any accidents that were caused due to poor visibility? Resurfacing the rough patches and improving visibilies should also be done for all the highways, however if these factors do not exist, there's nothing to work upon.

Hence, the author concludes that Prunty County should imitate the efforts of Butler County without assessing all the details needed. This makes his/her argument completely unreliable and full of loopholes. We need to fill in the information gaps before arriving at a decision because otherwise invested funds and resources will bring no benefits