Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that they should allocate a greater share of budget next year to market their movies to increase the viewership of their movies. He claims this because while the viewership of their production company reached a nadir last year, the "percentage" of positivie movie reviews increased. However, the argument made by him is completely flawed for the reasons delineated below.

First, the advertising director mentions that the percentage of positive movie reviews accrued. However, the percentage metric does not account for an increase in the absolute number. Since he mentioned that the viewership actually decreased, even if number of positive reviews remained constant compared to last to last year, the percentage will increase. In order for his reasoning to be more compelling, he should provide the statistical numbers of positive review rather than a ratio. He should also consider the reviews of critics who are responsible to adjudicate a movie to detect the movie quality made by this production company.

Second, even if we assume that movies are of good quality for a moment based on "percentage increase", it still doesn't tantamount to being the best movies available. There might be other production house movies available which people are preferrring more than these movies.

Morever, with the rise of digital age where Netflix, Amazon Prime Video and other such digital TVs are easily available to masses, people might not actually be traditionally going to cinema halls to attend the movies. In this case, the production company should focus on changing their distributors to be in sync with the public demands.

Hence, this argument is full of loopholes and information gaps that need to be addressed before drawing out a conclusion. The advertising director needs to carefully circumspect the situation by doing more research and gathering more facts and evidences on the quality of movies and the reason why viewrship to arrive at a lucrative solution.