"Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that the person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered." - Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

According to the argument, there is a "small possibility" for a person to die due to inoculations and hence these should not be routinely administered to the people. However, I think the argument lacks essential information regarding this diseases as well as the vaccination due to which we cannot draw the conclusion as stated in the argument.

First, we do not know how lethal is this disease? What is the fatality rate? What is the fatality rate of the vaccination? If the fatality rate of both the vaccination and disease are relatively same (margin of about 10~20%), the vaccine is totally useless. The vaccine should not be even given to one person, let alone routinely. If the fatality rate of cow disease is, for instance, 99% and that of vaccine is less than 1%, then it is obviously a good idea to provide vaccination to people who are in "high danger"

Yet, we cannot say about "routinely" being administered, because we do not know how this disease is spread? Is it virulent? Is it contagious or it can be spread only via cows? If contagious, how contagious? What does exactly routinely mean in the passage? How many people would be given this vaccine regularly? Who are these people?

Third, do we have medicines available for this disease? What is their efficacy? Can the medicines at least prevent deaths? If yes, vaccines should definitely not be given for in this case as the fatality rate of inoculation will be higher than the disease itself. Moreover, would the vaccination work on the cows? If yes, the cows should definitely be given this vaccine because this will lead to disease getting eradicated from the root.

For these reasons, I believe that the author jumped too quickly to conclusion on the basis of little information available. Careful investigation and analysis must be done before making decisions as only that will lead to saving of lives rather than making a hurried decision on incomplete information.