All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

I believe that hiring consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently is always a better idea than to just rely on feedback from employees.

It is a well-known fact in business that employees of a company fall easily for peer pressure. Most of the employees are not well aware that how a decision X will impact the company overall and their work specifically. They tend to go according to what other people are thinking and try to "fit-in" to the culture of the company.

Moreover, there can be many employees who would be quite knowledgable about the effects of actions that the company intends to take or has taken yet they wouldn't just "care" enough to speak out until and unless it impacts them directly and severely. This does not mean they are not good employees, it just shows that they value their time and after all, it's not their "business" to indulge in every decision because they have got their own job to do as well.

Third, "groupthink" is a term which means easily agreeing to the decisions made by your boss or by what majority of people in the team think is "correct" even though they can see the fallacies in the plan. This is commonly observed at workplaces, and even though it is discouraged doesn't mean it's completely eliminated because there will always be employees who want to "look" good by being pliant and there will always be seniors suppressing their juniors.

For these reasons above, I think that listening to employees is not entirely "reliable". It would be way more beneficial for an enterprise to hire the professionals whose job is to analyze the company's efficiency, bring out the fallacies and suggest changes along with devising schemes to bring out more productivity.

But does this mean listening to employees can be ignored? Listening to employees is very crucial, for they can provide great insights to work culture which eventually determines success. As mentioned before, groupthink should be discouraged. However, the information gained from employees should not be the only source of information to make important decisions. Hiring consultants will always provide greater efficacy.