"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the above argument claims that to protect Tria island and it's tourism industry, tourists should be charged for using this beach. This will help in procuring money required to replenish the sand to prevent the buildings against the storms. He/she believes so because replenishing the sand on a nearby beach also helped in protecting the buildings. However, this argument is completely flawed for the following reasons.

First, the author believes that sand replenishment will help protect the island buildings against the storms because a similar technique helped in Batia, a nearby island. However, it is possible that due to geographical locations of Tria , it is way more subjected to storms than Batia island. While, sand replenishment might provide some protection, it will not necessarily be providing complete protection. Hence, the climatic changes in the world and it's geographical place can be a greater threat to Tria island's tourism industry rather than only sand erosion. Hence, the cost, effort and time invested in replenishment will not give the desired outcome and will not improve the tourism industry too.

Second, the tourism in Tria island is likely to decline if the tourists start getting charged for using the beaches. The mention of Batia island located nearby suggests that there could be an archipelago of islands available for tourists which can enable them to use these services for free.Why will the tourists then visit Tria if it starts charging money. Although it is possible that Tria might have some unique features that sets it apart from other islands, yet if money will be charged, the number of tourists will surely wane. The outcome could be deleterious in this case because neither money would be procured for sand replenishment nor the tourism industry will grow. Proper investigation of any market should be done before making such pecuniary decisions.

Thus, the author's argument is full of loopholes and contains many information gaps. It is not all viable as it based more on assumptions begetted by intuitions rather than real evidences. Such decisions require a proper deliberation and analysis otherwise the effects could be totally antithesis to the desired ones.