The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author claims that Sunnyside Corporation's profits will increase "dramatically" if all the buildings in the complex restrict the water flow from shower heads to one-third of the current flow. He believes so because he assumes with great confidence that doing the same in first three buildings has already resulted in lesser water usage. However, this argument is completely flawed since it lacks essential evidences and information and at the same is completely full of assumptions.

First, the author assumes that low water pressure is tantamount to less water usage. If the pressure is low, taps could be turned on for a longer period of time to complete the task at hand. This will result in more or less the same water usage. Hence, it cannot be claimed here with high confidence that this will result in lesser water usage.

Second, the residents of the complex may not necessarily be using shower to take bath. They can use bath tub or bucket and mug. There is no information present as to what percentage of people are using showers, so until this information is obtained, the argument essentially holds no value.

Third, the water, along with bathing, is also used for cooking, washing clothes,utensils and vegetables, in toilets and for various other inummerable reasons. The amount of water spent in bathing is actually a very small percentage compared to whole. Even if restricting the water flow in just the shower heads helped in decreasing the water usage amount while bathing, this usage is still constant at all other places. This will not produce a great impact in water reduction usage as a whole. Hence, the increase in profits cannot be "dramatic" in this case.

Thus, we cannot conclude that restricting the water supply from shower head will not have a great impact in increasing the profits. The author should wait for the water readings to come for the first three towers where this change has already been made, deliberate that why this happened and then make a systematic and effective decision based on facts and evidences.