Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author says that the young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term goal rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. However, the term "immediate" is very ambiguous here. There is no fame and recognition in the world that is immediate, behind every fame and glory there is an intense amount of hardwork. So why shall they not pursue it?

If we look at various professions where "famous" people exist, Sports is one of those few examples. A youngster might want to become a sports celebrity, and as we all know sports is an ephemeral career. However, a sports celebritiy has earned enough fame, recognition, respect from people and most importantly, money in the short span of mere fifteen years that by comparing it with some long-term goal doesn't hold any sense. Moreover, this fame is not immediate. For instance, Michael Jordan, one of the greatest basketball players in the entire world, has worked intensely and gone through many sleepless nights practising unlike most of the mediocre people to reach that status.

Yet another profession is ofcourse, the Movie Stars. They also go through immense struggle and hard work to acheive their goals. It is a well-known fact that many of the rich stars that we see today have gone through a period of great poverty living on a meagre salary while continuously trying to "get a break". No success is immediate, it's often how we perceive it as meteoric because we are not well aware of the other person's hardwork and dedication that he/she went through.

There is also a recent trend among the youngsters to pursue social media blogging as their career choice. Today, there is a sundry of bloggers over internet consisting of travelling bloggers, fitness bloggers, food bloggers and so many others. These people generally emerge from the middle-class families and after dedicating a huge amount of effort and time, they are able to gain some followers. This indeed gives them fame and recognition but it is also not immediate. It takes time to go from a mediocre status to the point where other mediocres are obsessed with knowing what he/she did entire day or when is the next blog coming up. During this time, they generally also go against their parents' wishes to put their academic careers on stake and follow their "dream" of becoming popular and many of them are able to acheive it too.

Hence, I would like to conclude that a person should pursue the career he/she wants to. There is no work in the world which does not require effort and hardwork. Every career demands a certain amount arduous work and great deal of time. When media says, XYZ became an overnight star, well it's overnight to public. Ask the star how many years it took for him or her.