Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

The author in the above argument states that in order to reverse the recent decline in profits, they must cut down their operating expenses instead of renting the videos at a higher price. He believes so because another video store in downtown Marston has started closing earlier than regular times and cleared their stock of old movies. However, I find this argument heavily flawed for the reasons mentioned below.

First, the author fails to analyse if shutting down the operating expenses in Marston store actually aided in preserving the profits. It might have seriously impacted the sales as well, but just because difference between sales and cost seemed to be constant, author believed in the fallacy that profits decline is being reversed. He mentions that this has been existing since a month, but a month is too short a period to analyse the sales and profits. In the long term, it might actually lead to more loss. This is because, it quite possible that most of the customers shop post 6 P.M. given it is also the time they get free from their work. Secondly, the author fails to mention that how by clearing the stock of movies older than five years would help in sustaining the profits. Five years is a very short period and these days people like to watch movies even fifty years old like “Godfather”, “The Conjuring” or even eighty years old “Gone With The Wind”.

Second, the author draws the comparison between the downtown video store and all the other video stores based on inconsistent facts. Even if we assume that closing down video rentals earlier and clearing some not so old but recent movies actually will help in making profits, yet we do not know if the same scenario also applies to all other video rental stores. It could be possible that Marston rental store is not in a very populated area and also where most of the people belong to higher age groups who show lack of interest in the video rentals. In such a case, the steps taken seem sensible at Marston, but they should not be blindly undertaken at every video store without going through proper facts!

Hence, I find the author’s conclusion completely flawed built on nebulous information that relies more on assumptions. Instead, the author should properly circumspect by doing a proper survey for each and every video rental store which must include information about the demographics of population it operates in, the timings when it is the busiest, which movies are preferred the most and which genre is completely declined. Then only a proper and informed decision can be taken.