As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has never been a time in the history as now when the use of technology is so high. Technology has become an integral part of our lives. It is impossible to imagine a day without using the tech-equipments like our computers or mobiles. They have definitely made our lives easier in many aspects, but along with that they are also diminishing our ability to think.

Let's take the example of the mind enervating game like Chess. Now, we do not require chess boards to play, thanks to the technology. We can compete in chess with anyone around the global online. However, the computer algorithms are also now able to predict the best move given the current status of game. These moves are then given as hints to player which a player readily succumbs to. I wonder now is it really a game between two humans or rather an algorithm competing with itself.

We can also take an example of facile things in our lives which do not require too much mind effort as chess such as simple writing a mail to your boss. Even there, we have predictive texts available. The computer algorithms highly training in Natural Language Processing can process the semantics and predict the best thing to say next. Humans are not even using their own brains to even a draft a mail! This predictive text feature is in fact ubiquitous from LinkedIn, a professional platform made to build connections to simply doing a whatsapp message to your friends and family. Why has the human race become so dependent on the technology?

Technology is not only killing the ability to think to solve problems but also destroying the creativity and art. This is manifested as the songs that we hear today. If we go back 50 years, the songs are so well-written and excellent sung and composed by the musicians. Now, we have Autotune feature. Anyone can be a singer today! Just anyone! No real talent or hard work required. The technology will play it's role. The songs are also today mashups and mixes of the old hits, made by meddling some beats culled from various places. Where is originality? Where is innovation?

You might argue that technology helps to focus on real issues while easier tasks are done by technology. You might also say that more the technology, more opportunities it creates to think, for instance, someone might be building up the chess algorithm that requires a high intellectual level. That's true, but these tech-advanced people who are building up such things are actually a very meagre percentage of people. The percentage of engineers in the world is already very less, and me being an engineer myself can confidently say that the people who are actually "building up" these technologies are very less even amongst these engineers. Rest of them are merely deploying the already made technologies and moulding them to their use. Moreover, with the readily available information over internet, everything is available online in a matter of a click.

Hence, we can conclude that technology is indeed deteriorating the ability to think as the reliance upon these technologies is increasing. It has already done a great deal and will continue as artificial intelligence becomes more prominent