"Manned space flight is costly and more dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the cost and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore we should invest our resources in unmanned flight."

While it is true that unmanned space flights reduce the risk of loss of human life, it is completely unwarranted that all resources should be invested in unmanned space flight. The writer of the letter makes various assumptions about both manned and unmanned flights that are completely ungrounded. No evidences have been provided to support the superiority of unmanned flights in the passage. Thus, the conclusion is dubious.

Firstly, the writer assumes that few successful unmanned space flights is enough to validate the fact that unmanned space flights can accumulate all data that a manned space flight can. There have been no mention about the tasks that require human presence- either survellience or performing work itself. If all resources were to be invested in unmanned flights, manned flights would be dearthed and such activities requiring human supremacy would be limited.

Second, the writer has not mentioned a thing about the budgeting of unmanned space flight. So, is the unmanned flight cheaper than manned space flight? If not, why disrupt an economical process for something that requires more money and resources have to be gathered? Also, there is no mention about the reliability of the unmanned space flights against manned space flights. Have there been no accidents with the unmanned space flights so far? These questions casts a serious doubt in the conclusion proposed by writer.

Furthermore, the writer has not expressed anything about crucial flight decisions. Certain unprecedented fallacies may arise during flight conditions that could be solved a human on board. Unmanned space flights may have to be aborted in such cases. That will a huge loss of investment and resources which is the not precisely what the writer suggests.

The writer lacks an elaborate research on this topic and have presented his views based on incomplete evidences. There are several ungrounded assumptions made by the writer which need further research. Unless a bunch of concrete evidences are provided to maintain the superiority of unmanned space flights, the conclusion cannot be regarded true.