According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

There are several flaws in the assertions made by the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. That claim that increasing the budget to reach more prospective viewers is based on many ungrounded assumptions and hence is dubitable. Several questions can be asked to cast the doubt on the validity of the claim made some of which are discussed below.

Firstly, the director claims that the movie are better because they have better reviews. But are the review veritable? How creditable are the reviews given? These question pose a serious challange to the claim made by the director.Since there were fewer movie goers, the opinion belongs lesser number of people. Furthermore, there is no information abou the competition. Has any new production house opened in the area that is attracting more people? This question should be answered first. If there is, a suitable competitive strategy should be followed.

Also, there is no data regarding the changes. Has the demography changed in the area? Is the popularity of cinema same as in previous years? If cinema is a declining option for spending time, then the number of people are bound to decrease whether the director employs the marketing strategies or not. So, proper research need to be done to find out the actual cause for decline in number of cinema goers.

On deciding to increase expenses, the director has assumed that the reach is not enough. But no evidence is presented for such. What if the reach is already enough but people are hesitant to attend the movie? Instead of such, it is better to take people's opinion on what would make them want to attend the movie and focus on that. This would aid much better in attracting prospective viewers than pouring money in marketing expenses.

Finally, there is no indication if the changes have occured in the cinema management. Has the ticket price gone up? Then renting a cinema would be a more viable option for people. Also, has the operating time changed? If the time has changed, it may present people with added burden of matching schedule with the cinema. The number of people largely depends on number of movies coming out. If the number of movies coming out is less, then whole argument is undermined.

In conclusion, it is clear that increasing reach to people is not sufficient to guarantee the increase in number of cinema goers. A detailed research should be done on this topic and figure out what will be the best option and strategy to carry out. otherwise, it is dubious that number of people going to cinema will increase.