Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted...

The business manager of the television station has prepared a strategy to recover lost revenues but his stategy lacks detailed research and is based on biased assumptions. He has not researched if the advertisement contracts are actually cancelled due to less time devoted to local news. Several factors are possible for the cancelling of those contracts. Are more number of people watching television? Is there a more popular television station started? Is the advertisement revenue same or increased? These are some questions that cast a doubt on the validity of the manager's conclusion.

Also, there has been no indications of how efficient a television advertisement is. The manager simply assumed that the decrease in revenue is due to decrease in time allocation for weather and local news which might not necessarily be true. It is entirely possible that business owner are not welcoming more customers through the means of television advertisements. If less people are watching the television, they would be reluctant to pay for television advertisements. The opposite is also possible that the business is welcoming enough customers that they no longer feel the need of advertising themselves.

Furthermore, the viewers were concerned with the weather report and the local news. But what actually was the concern is not specified. Were they concerned with the station allocating small time for local news and weather, or the quality of report on this aspect. It is preferable for a local televsion station to broadcast local news more. But attention should be paid for the viewers response abou what they want to see. This guarantees in increase on number of viewers rather than the manager's assumption of more time devoted to local news and weather report.

The validity of conclusion can be also questioned on the basis that more viewers do not assure more revenue. It is due to the efficiency of the advertisement and proven business results. A rigorous research should be done to determine a way to make advertisements more convincing which would attract more business owners.

Thus, there are several fallacies in the manager's conclusion about increasing revenues. A more thorough research is required and evidences should be collected to support the conclusion. The conclusion made currently is based on ungrounded assumptions and susceptible to be proven wrong.