Should parents make decisions for their teenage children?

Taking care of one’s children is always a taxing job. It is a huge responsibility for parents to raise their kids with good attitude and behavior that will aid them with developing interpersonal relationships in future. Usually parents take decisions for their kids until a certain age. But it is a controversial topic as to until what age parents should make decisions for their children. Some people mature early- they know what is good and socially and morally acceptable while some take time understand the ways of human life. So, it is always debatable whether a parent should make decisions for their teenage children. I, for one, believe that teenagers should be allowed to make their own decisions.

Teenage is the time we start to grow. We start to learn things about the world that were incomprehensible as a kid. While on this learning stage, if we let teenagers make their own decisions, it imparts in them a sense of freedom in controlling their own life. They learn to be responsible for their own actions. Even if they make mistakes; they can learn from it which adds to a valuable life experience. This helps to prepare them for future endeavors of life.

Another reason I hold this belief is because they have a chance to figure out what is good for them what is detrimental. They can choose a field for their study, career or interest which brings out the best in them. Those children who follow their interest can be passionate about things and can exceedingly contribute to the field. They are the future of the world and the world can benefit a lot from such passionate youths.

Thus, I think letting teenagers handle things on their own is a good idea although it does not mean that they should be allowed to do whatever they want. It should be the role of parents to keep a close eyes on the teenage children and provide them with proper guidance they need to advance with their lives; not necessarily take the decisions themselves.