The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In this ever-progressing world, new theories and inventions are promulgated every passing day and same can be asserted for government, industry or any other fields. So, it seems necessary that we prepare a good leader for the future to continue this trend of innovation and while doing so, the process should be started as early as since childhood. It is thus necessary that we instill knowledge required for success as a leader and a sense of cooperation and competition both does that. Saying that both can be advantageous to young people in their survival, I believe that competition does this better than cooperation and hence I side with instilling a sence of competition in young people.

Since we grow ina society and are preety much shaped by our society, it is lucid that we think for the betterment of our society. There are cooperative people and there are competitive people. And where cooperative people tend to keep balance in the society, I believe that it is competitive people who bring the innovation in society. Much of the technical prowess that we are witnessing currently is due to the high competition prevalent in the field of technology.

Competition brings out the best in people and those people shape what is best for a nation. Competition necessitates that your product be the best to capture market. Competition ensures your survival. So, in the field of industry, it is the competitive position that keeps your dominance. Cooperation, on the othe hand, is well known to ensure survival in averages. If you want to be the best, you have to come out best in the competition.

There are arguments to support that instilling sense of cooperation will help better achieve success in life later but there are ample examples to refute such claims. Would Hitler have been what he became if his people did not cooperate with him? On the contrary, would Abraham Lincoln have been successful if he was not competent enough to outcast others? These example help shed light on what is more important; cooperation or competition?

While supporting the idea of instilling sense of competition, I do not mean in any way that cooperation is not needed. Cooperation is required to but for the betterment of a society, country and its people as a whole. To thrive with success and come out the best and do best for the country, one has to be competent.

Thus, it is clear that instilling the sense of competition will best work to raise best leaders and businessmen. While cooperation is also an important trait that a leader must exhibit, I favor competition more.