The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

I believe it is true that one needs to reject the familiar first to gain an insight of self-knowledge. To learn about oneself, one needs to introspect one's past within oneself and comtemplate the purpose of life. It is vey unlikely that self-knowledge is possible only by understanding of trivial knowledge.

No one can deny that higher knowledge can be gained by indulging in worldly pleasures. Self-knowledge is a spiritual transformation that requires abandonement of exotic things around oneself. The search for self-knowledge requires perseverence search for enlightment and higher purpose of life. Very less people have chosen this path because people cannot give up their comfort for spiritual transition.

We can study the confirm from the biography of Gautm Buddha, who in search of enlightment, abandoned his everything and went for the search of higher purpose in life. He was a prince and was married who could have spent his life in royal pleasures but instead opted to forsake such pleasures to pursue self-knowledge. Such an act is not readily acceptable to the plebians. It shows an extent to which familiar things should be rejected to gain self-knowledge.

Also, it is obvious that only by rejecting familiar thins first, you can focus on more important things in life. If you cannot step out of your comfort zone, you are never even close to being enlightened with self-knowledge. And it is only a first step towards self-knowledge. As the proverb says, "A good begining is a task half completed", a step towards self-knowledge by rejecting the familiar is a task half accomplished in the pursuation of enlightment.

Thus, I would like to conclude that there is no doubt in accepting that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. As the saying runs, "No pain, no gain", it is necessary that you forsake familiar things and focus on higher purpose to gain self-knowledge.