Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law is to make as much money as possible.

In this ever-advancing era of technology, various corporations are set up to provide services or ease our lifestyles. On a perfunctory glance, it may seem that such corporations's objective is to serve human needs but therein lies different motives advantageous to the corporation and it's founders. To earn money is the highest priority if not first. So, I agree to the second statement that corporations should focus on making more money staying within the law but have some concessions with the first statement.

The stature of corporations operating in a country of a place is an important symbol of how well the country or the place is developed. Corporations promote economic development of the place which later reflected as an increase in living standards of the people living in the area. Besides, there are ample job opportunities provided by such corporations and services provided that no obligatory responsibility to well being of people seem necessary.

Furthermore, a corporation abiding by the law unknowingly serves the people and society as such responsibilities are included by the lawmakers. If the policy makers of the country cannot include such in laws to be followed by corporations, then it is unjust that such burden falls on the corporations only. For a corporation to focus on the goals set forward, the society it resides in should also be responsible for the well-being itself.

Startups of a corporations may seem unfair to society or environment at first but not necessarily so. For instance, if we look at a n initial set up of a hydropower plant, one may argue that it is unfair to make people abandon their society and move to other locations to make hydropower but once complete, it provides opportunities to same people and help for their well-being.

Some may argue that corporations must be necessitated to employ environment preservation activities but such activities are only burden to the corporations. While it helps in making a little goodwill, much harm is done to the corporation by removing focus from making money.

In conclusion, it is debatable that a corporations should or should not have responsibilities to promote the well-being of society or environment. But due to presented views, I believe that a corporations should be responsible to making money satying within the law.