An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

It is highly dubious that the new breed of millet will be successful to eliminate the vitamin A deficiency in the nation. The claim that this new breed of millet will aid in fighting vitamin A deficiency is based on ungrounded assumptions and there are several fallacies to the claim. Complete research has not been done to guarantee the efficiency of the new breed of millet and if there are any other ways to fight this problem. So, it is unlikely that the new breed of millet is the appropriate solution to the problem.

Firstly, it is only stated that the millet is high in Vitamin A but it is not indicated that the vitamin is readily absorbed by the human body. The content may be too much for body to digest. It is also not indicated that the new breed of millet has contents not suitable for human health. The new millet is marketed to solve problem without actually testing the product.

Furthermore, it is not indicated that the climate is suitable for the new breed of millet. It is assumed that the millet will flourish in the same climate as the previous breeds. Also it is assumed that people will readily accept the new breed because it is a staple diet. But what if it tastes different and not liked by the people. a good amount of research work is seen pending in this region.

Lastly, looking from financial perspective, it does not seem like the most cost effective method. It is said that the seeds are costly and farmers will be given subsidies but no information is available whether the subsidy will be enough to adopt this new breed. Also, there might be other ways to supply vitamin A at he cost of providing subsidies. No financial data is available to assure that this is the most economical option.

Thus we can see that there are several fallacies to this plan of fighting vitamin A deficiency. The assumptions are baseless and more research needs to be done so that most suitable method is applied. To conclude we can say that the new breed of millet is not likely to produce the desired result.