Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author of the sentence above while supporting that inoculations should not be administrated has provided arguments that are generally not well supported and that can be easily refuted. As a matter of fact, three main logical problems can easily be found.

Firstly, even if the writer's assumption that the adoption of inoculations in areas affected by the cow flu would save many lives could be extremely correct, he did not provide any proof of that. I agree that it is reasonable to say that since it seems to be one of the most worthy idea to avoid the spread of the outbreak but, without having any scientific or at least statistic fundations his proposal could not be proven.

Secondly, he has argued that inoculations have to be administred just in the areas where the desease has been detected. He has not explained further what he was meaning with his sentence, but, in order to ensure the stop of the spread, the best option would be to inoculate not only the places which has been affected at the moment but even the one that are more likely to be affected in the future, in order to protect them.

Finally, his attention has moved on the grade of danger of inoculation. In particular, he has suggested that, as there is a tiny possibility that this measure could cause deaths, it should not be adopted. Of course his view seems to be wise and responsable but he has not provided any data about the amount of real deaths due to the cow flu and of the hypotethical ones due to the inoculations. All this is to say that if the former would be way higher than the ladder the adoption of this measure will be worth and it will avoid many deaths.

In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that if more proofs would have been provided and if his reasonament would have been well-rounded, his thesis could have been correct. Anyway the text have some logical issues and his analysis is too vague so his final adfirmation could not be considered ad welll-reasoned.