Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that take the speed reading course will provide an opportunity for an employee not only to read faster but also increase productivity and they should all participate in this course. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author embraces the idea that other companies alleged that this course will increase employee's productivity. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if productivity is just related to reading faster. One point that should be considered is that there are many factors like intelligence, talent, skills and so forth, that determine whether an employee is productive or not. Indeed, maybe companies want to make a substantial profit through this program and gaining money from employees. What if employees do not make a progress after getting the course and paying a vast some money?

The author also points out that some employees have been able to read many pages in two hours and this course provides fertile ground for an employee to receive a higher position in his/her job. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise, the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe the author use this example in order to attract more employees and the main purpose of these examples is just advertising the speed-reading course, who knows? Alongside that, gaining a higher position depend on various items and will not occur as soon as possible or just by reading faster.

Finally, as set forth by the author this course will cost 500 dollars per employee wit further program in other cities. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if all employees could afford such price and take part in this course. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not mention how much employees receive from companies every month and, indeed, maybe majorities of the salaries are less than 500 dollars annually. So, the employees might not be able to participate in this program otherwise, they face some difficulties in their personal lives.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.