"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness,even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related product and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The magazine article entails the current condition of physical fitness of residents of Corpora. It makes a connection between the dependency of physical fitness of humans on the usage of computers and the economy. On giving out the resultant conclusion, the author makes various assumptions, thus making his argument incoherent and rife with holes.

The argument refutes the opinion of experts that the high usage of computers is the cause of reduced fitness levels of Corpora. But, in refuting this, the author jumps to conclusion before analyzing it scrupulously. The author proves the experts’ opinion is incorrect by stating that the physical fitness of people is highest in the regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership is highest. The author just assumes here that there can be no other valid reason for high physical fitness which does not relate to computer ownership at all. He ignores that the high fitness rate in regions where computer ownership is the highest possibly leads to the fact that the people living in such regions are well-off i.e. affluent. And if, they are affluent enough to afford a computer, they are most probably affluent enough to afford physical fitness equipments like treadmill, bicycle, dumbbells, etc. So, here the physical fitness has nothing to do with computer ownership. Moreover, the experts’ opinion doesn’t talk about computer ownership but about computer usage. Just owning a computer doesn’t provide with enough data about computer usage. Those people living in regions where computer ownership is highest, majority of them might not use computer that much. They might have just bought it for occasional purposes when they really need it. So, this does not concludes that just because they own a computer and are physically fit, that these two things must be related with one another and it also doesn’t coherently helps in refuting the experts’ opinion.

Next, the author makes another point saying that economy is the cause for low physical fitness of citizens of Corpora. He concludes this with the help of a fact that the people of Corpora have spent relatively less money on fitness-related products and services this year. Now, we can evidently see that the author leads to the conclusion with the help of this fact by making an assumption. He assumes that physical fitness can only be achieved by fitness-related products and if a person doesn’t spend on them, then he/she is physically unfit. This is a very absurd assumption to make. A person can be physically fit without spending too much money on extravagant products and services. For example, walking and jogging require minimal spending of money but if you do it properly for prolonged periods of time, it is enough to be physically fit. Yoga requires no equipment whatsoever and it is a great option to be physically as well as mentally healthy. Needless to say, the author also doesn’t give any consideration to the diet routine of the citizens of Corpora. He just assumes the paucity of physical fitness products to be the reason that they are physically unfit which enables him to make the conclusion that economy is the reason that the people of Corpora are physically unhealthy.

Hence, we can say that it is perfectly lucid that the author makes many assumptions to make the conclusion that he made. The author should have included the diet plans of people, their attitudes towards health and their daily physical activities to reach to a conclusion about the cause of low physical fitness of citizens of Corpora.