The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The statement can hold as the right thing to do in a few cases but in multitudes of other cases, it is not the better approach. We know that education is a two-way process and any action from the part of child is important as it conforms to the two-way concept of education. Thus, it is essential on the part of teacher to deal with every action of the child appropriately, whether it is positive or negative.

The role of teacher is not just to teach but to give each child appropriate attention and try to extort responses and queries from them. But all children are not born as perfect students. Some of them might have notorious tendencies which can give rise to negative actions. Now, a teacher can take two approaches towards such actions. Either they can ignore such actions or they can take it upon themselves to convert those actions to positive ones. While it is the proper thing to do to praise the positive actions as it develops self-confidence in students and they feel like they are appreciated. But the negative actions deserve equal attention too. If you just let them slide by, they can attain greater degree of negativity and those children might turn into malefactors of society. As an educator, the aim should be to avoid such situations as much as possible because education does not only mean preaching knowledge but also shaping the individuals as all-rounded citizens. Due to this reason, it is necessary to acknowledge every action of each child and take appropriate measures towards them. For instance, if a student, rather than studying, always disturbs other students and doesn’t even let them study and is the most noisome among all students. Then the teacher cannot afford to just ignore him/her and let it go. The teacher should try first to talk to the child and make him understand why he should not continue his notorious behaviour. If the child is still unable to understand, then the teacher should refer him/her to the school counsellor. If the malicious behavior persists in the child, then the final step should be to contact the parents of the child and discuss the problem with them and suggest appropriate measures about how they can help their child in order to become a good student.

In few cases, however, it is good to let the negative action slide by. For instance, if a teacher asks a question and there is one child who raises his/her hand and another student who immediately starts speaking to give the answer. Then the teacher should not ignore the student who raised his/her hand even if the other student was speaking the right answer. This lowers confidence in the student who raised his/her hand because he/she feels like it is no use to know answers because the teacher doesn’t appreciate him/her. In this case, the teacher should ignore the negative action of the other student and acknowledge the student who raised his/her to answer the question which is the proper etiquette. But, this is a one in a thousand case where it is best to ignore the negative action. Otherwise, every action is equally acknowledgeable of a student. Every action of the student deserves the attention of the teacher. That is one of the essential traits of a good teacher. Hence, a good teacher should give consideration to the positive as well as the negative actions of a student.