Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A society is made up of people who more often than not, share common beliefs, customs, practices, ideals and mentality. The actions of the society reflect the actions of the people. Whatever the people do or think tells us about the type of the society they belong to. This is why, the personalities who the people of the society aspire to become like, give us an idea about the character of the society. The choice of our role models tells about the kind of person we aspire to be. Additionally, it conveys our ideals, ambitions and aspirations.

Most often, we try to assign the person we wish to be on an individual who is accomplished and is a manifestation of our ideals. Such an individual has a very great impact on our lives. The heroes and role models chosen by people contain those qualities that are admired the most by the people. They aspire more and more to become like them and then have the same impact as their heroes have on the world. A significant amount of knowledge about the personality of the person can be deciphered from their heroes and role models. These people are the ones that make up a society. Thus, a society’s character can be known by examining the character of the men and women they admire. It can lead us to concrete knowledge about the mentality of the society. Let us understand a negative example of this case. For instance, if a group of young men living in South-East Asia have their role model as Osama Bin Laden, the terrorist mastermind behind many attacks all over the world, then we can tell about those young men that they are very much likely to become violent sadists. It can be inferred that their mentality most likely is to kill anyone who does not conform to their ideals, values and ideas. Therefore, choice of the society’s heroes and role models gives a very concrete idea about the character and mentality of the society.

Even on considering all the above given points, it is true that if a person is determined enough to be guided by only his own ideals and principles, then no external factor, no matter how strong, can deviate the person from what he is determined to do. The admiration and faith we place in our role models and heroes can be fleeting and we might realize after some time that the person is not really good enough to be our role model because we should not aspire to be someone like him/her. But for this, we should be really certain about what values should be obtained from these so-called role models and what should not be obtained.

Most often, people fail to distinguish between the virtues and the vices of their role models and heroes and they blindly follow them. Therefore, I rest my case in saying that by examining the character of the role models and heroes of a society, we can determine the type of society it is.