The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the presented argument, the author makes motley of assumptions in stating the conclusion. The conclusion drawn by the author here is that by prohibiting skateboarding in the Central Plaza, the amount of litter and vandalism would decrease and hence, the number of shoppers would increase. The premises stated by the author are not sufficient enough for drawing the conclusion.

The Central Plaza store owners believe that the reason the amount of shoppers in their stores is low is because of the presence of skateboarders. Their viewpoint is that these skateboarders vandalize and throw litter here and there which has kept the shoppers away from the Central Plaza. Now, while this may have some validity. But it cannot be proved for certainty without considering other possible reasons of low number of shoppers in the Central Plaza. Without considering the other possible reasons, prohibiting skateboarding is not a logical and reasonable decision and may prove to be a futile one. It may lead to even less number of shoppers.

One of the other possible reasons of the less number of shoppers in the Central Plaza could be the location of the mall. Is it located in a remote area or in the heart of the city? If it was located in the heart of the city, it was likely to attract more number of shoppers. But if it is located in a remote area or in the outskirts of the city, then the number of shoppers would likely be low. The more people live around the mall, the more people are likely to shop from the mall. Another possible reason to consider is the products sold at the stores in Central Plaza. Are these products suitable for the people visiting the mall? They should be of the appropriate quality depending on the class of people coming here for shopping and they should also be affordable enough for the people to buy them. The people should feel like they are not buying worthless items for a lot of money. The products should not be too extravagant or of too poor quality for the shoppers.

Another way that they could increase the number of shoppers to create awareness about their mall is by advertising. They could put advertisements on the billboards and on buses etc. and also showcase the offers and sales offered by the various stores to attract more and more customers. Because, the reason people are not shopping from the Central Plaza could be lack of knowledge or awareness about it. And, advertising could be the answer for it instead of prohibiting skateboarding.

The skateboarding, in fact, could be the only source of income of the Central Plaza. If the skateboarding is indeed popular here, then these skateboards are very much likely to shop from the stores of Central Plaza than any other person because these people visit the Central Plaza often so can do shopping from here and even attract their friends and family. Therefore, the prohibition of skateboarding might prove to be a futile decision, if not harmful. Hence, before coming to this conclusion, the other possible reasons should not be overlooked and they should be assiduously considered.