Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that a diet rich in dairy products may increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis since a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of study have a higher rate of bone fractures, which are symptomatic of osteoporosis, than any other participants in the study. The author must provide some concrete evidence to support the argument.

Firstly, there must be evidence that the study result is accurate enough to support the argument. There must be evidence that the study consisted of equal proportion of the people who consumed a diet rich in dairy products and others who did not consume dairy products. There must be evidence that the people who consistently consumed dairy products are not working in dangerous sites where accidents take place which increases the rate of bone factures. There must be evidence that bone fractures that have occurred in the people who consistently consumed dairy products are only due to their age but not by external factors like accidents. If the author provides these above evidences, then it helps in strengthening the argument. Otherwise it weakens the argument.

Secondly, the author of the argument considers only bone fractures as a key factor in deciding if the a diet rich in dairy products will increase or decrease the risk of osteoporosis as they are symptomatic of osteoporosis. The author must provide evidence that bone fracture is the only symptom of osteoporosis and there are no other symptoms for osteoporosis. The author does not compare the bone strength of the people who consume a diet rich in the dairy products and others who don't consume dairy products as they become older. The author must providence evidence that bones of the people who consumed dairy products became weaker with age to support the argument.

The author must provide above evidences such as proving that the conducted study results are accurate and bone fractures caused in the people who consumed a diet rich in dairy products are mostly due to the increased age to support the argument.