A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

While the movie producer may have a legitimate concern about the success of the movie Working Title due to working with a new director and the additional remuneration to the actors and crew, it is due to the lack of solid evidence and data in the memo, which makes it difficult for us to evaluate the strength of the argument. Without references to the reasons as to why an additional 10 percent is required and not a 5 percent or 15 percent for that matter or the estimated extra amount to be paid for the overtime dues, we cannot substantiate the author's argument with certain. The conclusion put forth regarding the failure of the movie in the absence of the extra funds relies on assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and hence need a much closer examination.

Firstly, the author makes a reference in the memo to increase the funding of the movie by 10 percent without any reasons as to how he arrived at that figure. Perhaps it is possible that 10% may not prove to be sufficient for the movie and he may need much more than that. Had the memo cited the actual reasons for the increase in expenses and their respective costs, we could have some sort of evidence to make a decision. Consequently, without actual calculation or estimating the underlying expenses or providing details, the argument difficult to evaluate.

Furthermore, the author also remarks that due to working with a first-time director who has only shooted one commercial in the past, they may require additional retakes thus causing a waste of time and money. This again is just a hypothesis on the part of the author. It is highly plausible that the directors first commercial may have been very successful and the director in question has the skills which can transfer into the movie. Had the author stated that the last shoot of the director was highly wasteful, there could have been a reason to agree with the memo, but the absence of such evidence cannot justify any kind of conclusion. Without providing on the success or failure of his previous shoot or his skills, we cannot make assumptions about the success or failure of the movie based on him being a first time director. It is due to the omission of such data, we are in a precarious situation to evaluate the argument.

Additionally, the author has mentioned that the there shall be a higher cost involved due to the payment of the crew and the actors due to the extra hours spent waiting for arrangement by the directors. It is probable that these extra costs may not arise, because of the proper planning and communication between the directors and the assistant producers. Hence, instead of forecasting the negatives which may occur, the author should try to find out ways through which the expenses could be lowered. Since the memo makes no reference to any such efforts to reduce costs, this again is a fallacy of the memo in question.

In conclusion, though the author could be certainly correct in his predictions regarding the movie, it is due to the lack of supporting evidence and examples, that one is left under the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking than substantive evidence. Had the memo included a solid example wherein the lack of such funds led to a similar movie being a disaster, we cannot come to a conclusion and hence, the argument fails to deliver.