A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The conclusion from the memo which was sent to the head of a movie studio explains the need for an increment in the budget allocated for the movie product, the increased amount is being stated to be gotten from extra money saved from inexperienced assistant directors. Well, this conclusion is based on the evidence that the director is not as skillful in movie production and there is a possibility that he/she will waste more time on the scene. So, if the cost of delay can be covered, the movie will be of good quality and successful. However, the recommendation seems flawed for some unstated assumptions which need to be warranted for the conclusion to be valid.

An unstated assumption is that more time spent on producing the movie can be translated to success. This means that no other area of movie production needs financial attention. Since the director is not well experienced in movie production and experienced in shooting commercials, if he does not understand the basis of movie production, even if he spends 20 days as opposed to 10 normal days, he will be unable to make a good movie. If the assumption is unwarranted, this means that the movie studio will spend money paying the crew for extra time and still fall back on a bad movie. The movie studio should rather focus on working with the best director.

In addition to the first unstated assumption, the 10% increase in the budget seems sufficient. Well, the percentage increase is relative to the actual amount. For example, a 10% increase on $1000 is $1100, the $100 might not seem to be a major contributing factor to producing a "quality" movie that will turn out very successful. When other factors of movie production that need financial attention is also assessed, there is a possibility that the movie studio might actually need more percentage increase their Until a piece ofevidence of a significant amount is shown, granting the request might be futile because more money will be needed.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for few identified reasons, more clarity and evidence are needed to further ascertain the efficiency of the conclusion. The movie studio needs to release a quality movie in the market, therefore, vital decisions need to be made which should be based on practical facts.