"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster an

The president of the brown builders states in the memo to increase sales and profit talks about adapting the strategy of the Domus builders. The president has talked about making larger size of the family room and state of the art kitchen. But the argument of the president is not convincing at all.

President has talked about the nationwide survey which is not justifiable. As a nationwide survey can not show the real trends of the particular region. President has also not talked about the sample size of the survey and not talked about the class of people included in the survey. So on basis of such survey taking decision would be questionable. As per the survey two most desired things among the buyers are the large family room and the large well appointed kitchen. Obviously any layman would aspire a beautiful mansion but it is not always economical to every one as the monetary terms can be constraint in it.

Following the path adopted by the Domus construction is not necessary will give success to Brown builders as there are many factors which can affect the sales of the both builders. Suppose the construction quality and fame of the Domus construction is good in the market and because of that any sort of the construction could be easily sold and people would be ready to give premium price to them. They might be having good investors, or the locations of the building are prime. This might or might not be the case for the brown builders.

President talks about boosting the profit by making the state of the art kitchen and family room. Constructing the state of art kitchen would cost more and large family room will increase the area of the flat indirectly increasing the cost of the building. This might affect them reversely by declination in the sales and the profit. After some period trends shift in every business so for the construction so there is chances that next year there is decline in the buyers of the luxurious home and people prefer compact and studio flats.

By following the idea of removing the dining rooms is not necessary helpful in selling in selling as some customers need both the kitchen and state of the art kitchen and in that case he might lose that customers.

The argument of the president of the brown builders are not convincing as he just wants copy Domus builders in the greed of the profit and increasing the sales without any sort of thinking. The President should also look to the other circumstances before taking any decision hastily for making more profit and avoid copying other builders and try to give more better quality of houses to buyers.