"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument the author urge to consider that in order to increase the sales of the homes at the higher price construction companies need to construct large living area followed by well-furnished kitchen. To support this recommendation, he cited that a nation-wide survey reveals these result and also Domus construstion sold their homes faster and at higher price following the result. I find this argument unconvincing and cogent for some reasons.

First, the author states that construction industries should have a paradigm shift of building large family room and well -appointed kitchens in order to increase their profits. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. The increment in he profit of Domus construction might be the reason of procurement of the expensive land they decided for building the house as land prices significantly affect the selling price of the home. The expense related to interior of the house can not be compared to the total house selling price as land price is, almost, 40 percent of the cost the house need to be sold. Also, the 1000 sq yard of land cost in california is much more expensive than the same size land in New Mexico. Interior of the house depends upon the people living in the it. A house for two people will not be needing the large living. While the brief statement of building the large living space and kitchen seems to be a robust idea, it deficit between what states and what is there to evidence for it and is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately cause the week argument that wuill count against author conclusion.

Second, author hypothesizd that if Domus contruction can have higher profit so as other construction companies. This assumption is unwarranted. It is equally possible to assume that Domus construction compant only features the home for large family where theer are more then 3 people. Perhaps they deal with large mansion sized home where there is a necessity of large rooms with the selling prices in multimillions as author never mention details about this construction firm. Hence this speculation is overgeneralized and author's argument lack compelling and affluent reasoning to convince his proposal.

However, it is true that many families in america likes to settle with spacious living rooms and furnished kitchen but the survey never mentioned which country does it belongs. Also, there is no data about the qualification of the participants of the survey as the requirements are interior designs are different for urban and rural area due to space constraints. Hence author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and it teems with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of the evident provided in the the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is not a strong argument. To bolster it, the author, must as very least, provide the concrete evidence regarding his claim, perhaps by the help of individual surveys for different cities in order to know the whether there is a real need for the large and spacious living room and a fully furnished kitchen Which will strengthen the author's claim.