Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” Benjamin Franklin’s axiom holds true for many aspects of one’s life or broader societal issues. This prescription can be vitally important for the governments of today when crafting their agendas and when formulating their national budgets. While governments should be continuously addressing the issues at hand each day, those in charge should be vigilant to prepare and anticipate problems of the future. This government preparedness for future events can be crucial in such examples surrounding climate change or a national health emergency.

It is nearly universally accepted that the climate is changing in response to human activity. Further scientific evidence has shown this effect is causing warming that could potentiate stronger storms, longer draughts, and other detrimental environmental changes. If one holds to this claim then he or she could see how important government involvement could be in the solution. As an example, the Unites States operates on a capitalistic economy that left unchecked by some government regulations could lead to future environmental worsening through air pollution. The government could take the stance of allowing businesses to operate however they decide is most profitable without consideration of future problems that this may allow. But, as many experts have pointed out this policy of ignoring future problems in exchange for maximum profits today will ultimately end in failure for society. As such, it is in everyone’s best interest to have governments to try and anticipate these future issues, like climate change, without being hyper focused on only the daily issues.

As another example of the importance of governments preparing for future events, one only has to look at the current state of affairs the US finds itself when dealing with the novel coronavirus pandemic. It is apparent that the US healthcare infrastructure was not adequately prepared to handle such a massive influx of effected patients. Nurses, doctors, and other frontline workers are running out of vital protective equipment and life saving devices. This pandemic can be taken as an example of how governments should always be looking forward and preparing itself and its citizens for a future crisis such as this global healthcare emergency.

Therefore, as presented in the issue prompt, I disagree with the notion that governments can essentially focus only on current events. The most successful nations have governments that not only deal with current issues but adequately prepare for future problems it may face.